Losing and Gaining Access

Hacker Man 20000
5 min readOct 2, 2022

Alt title: Everything happens for a reason 🤷‍♂

This is the short story of how I ended up learning how to clone a co-working space NFC card. Self-learning FTW.

How I procured the NFC reader

I tend to buy things from Amazon on a whim. I love the algorithms that bring me to “customers who bought this, also bought these things too” type of zig-zagging through the online store. Warning, you can get lost for hours doing this type of browsing the virtual aisles.

One day a few months ago, I decided to buy yet another Raspberry Pi 4. I opened up Amazon and added it to my cart. Based on my Raspberry Pi selection, I was greeted with ETEKJOY ACC122N NFC reader USB. Along with the reader, I bought the recommended cards: LEXI 20pcs Changeable UEID Smartcard.

I bought these items months ago, with no forethought that I would ever use them in a practical sense for anything useful, besides maybe learning how NFC cards work and some weekend tinkering.

the recommended reader

How I lost my card

I didn’t realize it, but I am a creature of habit. Last week, I switched bags to a more “minimal” setup for my work commute, which threw my entire world off. I was constantly checking where my wallet, keys, id, etc. were, and which pockets they were in. Gone was the…

--

--